#100MonstrousPoems 93: El Coco

Leave a comment

Jun 14, 2021 by Tom

Although you cannot see me
I’m right here, at your side.
There is no point in running.
There is no need to hide.

For I am always waiting.
I’m faithful, never fear:
I’ll stick with you through thick and thin,
I’ll always be right here.

At least, until you’re bigger,
For then I’ll leave you be:
I’m never friends with grown ups, they
Do not believe in me.

But you know that I’m with you,
Just waiting for the time
That you decide to risk it and
Commit some minor crime.

Some people say I’ll eat you:
But they, my dear, are fools
And though it seems ironic, I
Do have to follow rules.

We cannot take the children
Who do as they are told:
Those are the poor unfortunates
That we must let grow old.

But once you have been naughty
I’ll spirit you away
To somewhere far away from here
Where you and I can play.

This sunny dream of childhood
It never has to end.
Just disobey the grown-ups’ rules
And let me be your friend.

Leave a comment