#NaPoWriMo 15 / #100poeticanswers 33 Why Can’t I wear My Silver Dancing Shoes To Play Football In If They’re Mine?

1

April 15, 2017 by Sez

A query about free will and footwear from Hannah.

You can.

Well, if that’s what you choose

You could pirouette onto the pitch

Feeling lighter than air as you gracefully leapt for the ball

But the mud that would stick To your shoes 

Would ooze

Between ribbons and buckles and twinkling glittery

Stars. And the soles with no studs – and no grip – would grow slippery 

So that soon you would skid, go slip-sliding away.

And then there would be every chance

That the game that you wanted to play

Would become an interpretive dance

Called “I ruined my shoes, and twisted my ankle and lost the match 17-nil. 

All in one day.”

And your football boots wouldn’t look right

With your tutu and tights, anyway.

They are your dancing shoes, after all. 

And you can, well, you could.

But there’s sometimes a difference to notice 

Between “can” and “should”

One thought on “#NaPoWriMo 15 / #100poeticanswers 33 Why Can’t I wear My Silver Dancing Shoes To Play Football In If They’re Mine?

  1. Sycorax Weatherwax says:

    What a ggreat idea for cues for poems! Would be cool if I could find a button so I could follow you.

Leave a Reply

