The News In Poetry Day 41: A Business Opportunity

1

April 23, 2013 by Sez

http://m.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-22266051

I heard that in far away places
Each day has a body count
I looked into scared foreign faces
And straight away thought of my bank account.

I knew I had something to offer
I sensed opportunity
To easily fill up my coffers.
To monetize their vulnerability.

The bombs and grenades kept on killing
The terror seemed infinite.
But then, I have never been willing
To really look too deeply into it.

They wanted to buy my devices
I made no objection
I offered the very best prices
For my bogus explosive protection.

Some people can hear about violence
And stand idly by.
But some, like myself, break the silence
And it’s blown all my profits sky high!

One thought on “The News In Poetry Day 41: A Business Opportunity

  1. Riot Kitty says:

    That’s beyond morally bankrupt, that’s a new kind of evil.

Leave a Reply

