Political Activism Fail. (Poetry Form 52: Roundel)

Leave a comment

May 4, 2012 by Sez

This is a roundel. See what I mean with the names? I quite like the short, repeated refrain. Gives me a sense of bitter disbelief. Which is about right.

You didn’t vote at all, this year
A way to register disgust
With this whole system: steer well clear!
You didn’t vote.

The coalition broke your trust
Their policies strike abject fear
Into your heart, so act you must:
You didn’t vote.

Well, please excuse me if I jeer
I’m pretty sure you yelled and fussed
For social change. Did I mishear?
You didn’t vote.

Leave a Reply

