Fierce Creature (Poetry Form Fourteen: Rubai)

Leave a comment

March 27, 2012 by Sez

This is a Persian verse form, but best known to me via Robert Frost’s Stopping By Woods On A Snowy Evening: one of my top poems ever.

I don’t know what it is about my friend Helen’s dog, Bell, that inspires me to write daft poems about her, but there you go. I’ll have to write one for Bell’s companion whippet, Charlie, soon, just to redress the balance.
I think, when writing in a dog’s voice, there’s probably no such thing as too many exclamation marks.

Fierce Creature

I get overexcited at the park!
So many sights and smells! Can’t help but bark!
My body trembles with adrenaline
And at each tree and post, I leave my mark!

I catch my human’s eye, and softly plead!
She kneels down and takes me off the lead!
I streak across the green, suffused with glee!
I really have got everything I need!

The world is mine! Of whippets I’m the queen!
But then the biggest hound I’ve ever seen
Is galloping towards me! Bloody hell!
To tear me limb from limb he seems quite keen!

I stand my ground, although my legs are shaking!
I hope that he can’t tell from here I’m faking!
And hopefully he’ll be intimidated
By all the scary growly sounds I’m making!

He’ll get me any minute now: I’m dead!
My snarls give way to whimperings of dread!
But just before my throat is in his teeth
His human grabs him by his giant head!

And here comes mine! I knew she’d rescue me!
She slips my lead back on! I can’t get free!
I strain and bare my fangs to scare my foe!
I’m sure I could have taken him, you see!

Leave a Reply

